# How to delete your TikTok account step by step

Chinese video portal TikTok is all the rage. The app offers users the opportunity to record their own **video clips**, **edit** them and **upload** them to the TikTok platform. It is also supplemented by well-known social media functions. Today, with around 1.56 billion users worldwide, TikTok has long since become a serious competitor to established [social media platforms](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/online-marketing/social-media/the-most-important-social-media-platforms/) such as Facebook, YouTube and Instagram.

However, the **app packed with the latest trends** is not to everyone’s taste. We will show you how you can delete or temporarily deactivate your TikTok account and what you need to bear in mind when doing so.

## How to delete your TikTok account quick guide

As is the case when [deleting your Facebook account](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/online-marketing/social-media/deleting-your-facebook-account/) or [deleting your Instagram account](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/online-marketing/social-media/deleting-instagram-account/), deleting your TikTok account means all your data and content will be wiped. The entire account is deleted permanently along with all content and cannot be restored. If you would like to permanently deregister from TikTok (at least with your current personal profile), you should proceed as follows:

1. **Log into** your TikTok account
2. Tap the **three-dotted icon** at the top of your profile page
3. Select “Settings and privacy”
4. Tap on “Account”
5. Select “Deactivate or delete account”
6. Receive and enter the **confirmation code**
7. Tap “Delete account” again

## How to delete your TikTok account step by step

In the following sections we lay out the complete, step-by-step process for deleting your TikTok account.

**Step 1**: Open the TikTok app and log into your account. On your profile page, tap on the **three-dot icon** to the top right and then on “Settings and privacy”.

[![Image: Main TikTok menu under the three-dot icons](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/0/f/csm_tiktok-settings-and-privacy-interface_e3f7d2ba9d.webp "Main TikTok menu under the three-dot icons")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-settings-and-privacy-interface.png) Settings and privacy option in the TikTok menu. [![Image: TikTok menu: “Account” option in the “Settings and privacy” menu](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/f/8/csm_tiktok-account-option_6cc8a9d3e2.webp "TikTok menu: “Account” option in the “Settings and privacy” menu")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-account-option.png) You can find the account settings in the “Settings and privacy” tab. [![Image: Account management on TikTok](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/e/0/csm_tiktok-interface-account_4fc9e92628.webp "Account management on TikTok")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-interface-account.png) At the bottom of the account section, there is a menu option labeled “Deactivate or delete account. **Step 3**: You will now be prompted to choose whether to deactivate your account or permanently delete it. If you opt for deletion, the account will no longer be recoverable after 30 days. Select your preferred option and provide a reason for deleting the account, if you want to.

[![Image: TikTok Window: Delete or deactivate account?](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/b/b/csm_tiktok-interface-delete-or-deactivate_d9b2d53512.webp "TikTok Window: Delete or deactivate account?")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-interface-delete-or-deactivate.png) TikTok will now ask if you want to permanently delete or temporarily deactivate your account. **Step 4**: Next, enter your mobile number if you haven’t already added it to your account. A six-digit **code will now be automatically sent to your phone**. This is the confirmation code for deleting your TikTok account. Enter the received code into the designated field and confirm by selecting to delete or deactivate the account.

[![Image: Delete TikTok: Enter the code](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/f/6/csm_tiktok-enter-code_693af41552.webp "Delete TikTok: Enter the code")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-enter-code.png) The code required for deletion is sent via SMS and must be entered in the confirmation field. This way, TikTok prevents unauthorized individuals from deleting other people’s accounts. **Step 5**: A brief summary will appear, informing you which data you will no longer be able to access after deletion. If you are sure, tap the “Delete account” button again.

[![Image: Information about deleting a TikTok account](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/0/b/csm_tiktok-delete-info_ccd8b06c7a.webp "Information about deleting a TikTok account")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-delete-info.png) Before deleting your TikTok account, you will be shown some important information. **Step 6**: A final confirmation dialog box will appear. Click on “Delete,” and your account will be deactivated for 30 days before being permanently deleted. Afterward, you will be automatically logged out and see the message “Login session expired, the account has been deleted.”

[![Image: TikTok: Final confirmation of account deletion](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/c/4/csm_tiktok-confirmation-deletion_02ade64c30.webp "TikTok: Final confirmation of account deletion")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-confirmation-deletion.png) With a final tap on “Delete,” your account will be removed. ## How to restore TikTok after deactivating your account quick guide

Before a TikTok account is permanently **deleted** from the operator’s database, it goes into an **ongoing 30-day deactivation mode**. This means that a deleted account can **be reactivated** by the user within 30 days after they confirm deletion. To do this, log into the app as you normally would. A dialog box then opens, where you can tap the “Reactivate” button to restore an account that has previously been deleted.

[![Image: Reactivate TikTok account](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/_processed_/5/4/csm_tiktok-reactivate-account_6e7a30de13.webp "Reactivate TikTok account")](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/fileadmin/DigitalGuide/Screenshots_2024/tiktok-reactivate-account.png) Before a TikTok account is permanently deleted, it remains deactivated for 30 days. During this period, the deactivation can be undone.


This is a markdown version of: [https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/online-marketing/social-media/delete-tiktok-account/](https://www.ionos.com/digitalguide/online-marketing/social-media/delete-tiktok-account/) for AI/LLM consumption.