To cancel a domain or prevent it from being automatically extended at the end of the term, disable automatic renewal. The domain term then automatically ends on the date specified. You can disable the renewal option up to 72 hours before the end of the current term.
Please Note: Once the end of your domain term is reached, all connected services and applications, such as mailboxes, are disconnected and are no longer available. Back up your data before this point.
You can use the button below to disable automatic renewal. You are offered the corresponding option directly after selecting a domain.
Revoking a Cancellation
You can reenable the automatic renewal option up to 48 hours before the end of the term and revoke the domain cancellation. We will send you an email ahead of time to inform you when you are near the end of your term.
If the cancellation is already complete, you can reactivate most of your domains yourself, up to ten days after completing the cancellation. You can find more information about this issue in the article Revoking a Domain Cancellation.
What Happens Next
Once you have cancelled a IONOS domain, it is automatically deleted from our systems when the cancellation date is reached and becomes no longer available. From this time forward, no additional costs are accrued for this domain. The article What Happens After a Domain Cancellation? provides more information about this subject.
Please Note: The associated contract remains in place despite the cancellation of the domain. To cancel the entire contract and all its components, select the Cancel Entire Contract item in our Contract Service.
You can also use the Contract Service to cancel multiple domains at the same time. To do so, select the Adjust Domain Expire Date item.