Sharing Folders in HiDrive

The Common Folders feature allows you to share any number of HiDrive folders with multiple users. You use individual access rights to define which user can open, edit, or delete files in the shared folders.

For example, you can create a shared folder for vacation photos where all family members can upload and delete photos. Meanwhile, relatives and friends can be assigned to only have read access to this folder.

Notes
  • The options and extra users described in this article are not available as an included feature in every HiDrive package. However, you can always add the extra features and additional users to your HiDrive package as an upgrade.
  • Files that were shared via the Public  folder before July 2020 can be found under the menu item Shared in the Public folder

Creating a Folder for Sharing

  • If you have not already done so, log on as a HiDrive administrator.
  • In the Administration  menu, click on Common Folders.
  • Click the + Common Folder button to create a new folder.
  • Complete your entries with Save. The new folder is displayed in the folder list.
  • Use the gear icon next to the created folder to set the access rights for that folder.

Creating Users for Shared Folders

  • If you have not already done so, log on as a HiDrive administrator.
  • Click on Users in the Administration  menu.
  • Click the + User account button to create a new user.
  • Complete your entries with Save. The new user is displayed in the user list.

Note that no special permission settings are required at this point. The rights management for read, write and delete takes place via the configuration of the shared folders.

Editing Shared Folders

  • If you have not already done so, log in as a HiDrive administrator.
  • In the Administration  menu, click Common Folders. A list of the folders created is displayed.
  • Click the gear icon next to the desired folder to rename it or change its permission settings.
  • Complete your changes by clicking the Save button.

Deleting and Restoring Shared Folders

  • If you have not already done so, log in as HiDrive administrator.
  • Open the item Common Folders in the Administration section. A list of shared folders is displayed.
  • Click on the folder you want to delete.
  • Click the Delete  button and confirm the additional security prompt. The entire folder and the files it contains are deleted.
Warning

If you delete files in the public directory, they are permanently lost. Shared folders created after July 2020 can be backed up and restored using the HiDrive backup function.


Did this article help you?

Your feedback helps us to further improve our services. To leave feedback, log in to your IONOS account by clicking on the login button at the top right. You can then submit a rating below the article.