Valid for Web Hosting customers with their own email domain.

This article explains how you can continue to access your email accounts if you transfer or cancel a domain.

If you transfer or cancel a domain, all email addresses set up for that domain will be deleted. However, to prevent accidental data loss, the mailboxes and all the emails they contain will remain in place.

To ensure you can continue to access your mailboxes, they are assigned a backup address in the format old_address@mailboxbackup.info.

If the domain ionoshilfe.de were to be deleted, for example,

  • the address mail@ionoshelp.com would be renamed to mail.ionoshelp.com@mailboxbackup.info

  • the address info@ionoshelp.com would be renamed to info.ionoshelp.com@mailboxbackup.info

  • and so on.

You can now decide for yourself what should happen to the remaining mailbox and the emails stored within it. Your options are:

  • Continue using the mailbox with a different address: If you wish to continue using the mailbox – for example, simply to carry out a data backup – you can rename it via the email management section in your IONOS and then continue using it with your existing password. To do this, you must have at least one additional domain included in your contract. The article Changing an email address explains how to rename your mailbox.

  • Deleting a mailbox: If you no longer need the mailbox, you can delete it. The article Deleting an email address explains how to do this.